Gordin's View

The Drama Desk Awards

Montego Glover
Catherine Zeta-Jones

Huckadoo! "Memphis" scores 4 Drama Desk Awards including Outstanding Musical, Music, Orchestrations, and Montego Glover for Outstanding Actress  in a Musical, a tie with Catherine Zeta-Jones  "A Little Night Music"




Montego Glover
Catherine Zeta-Jones

Huckadoo! "Memphis" scores 4 Drama Desk Awards including Outstanding Musical, Music, Orchestrations, and Montego Glover for Outstanding Actress  in a Musical, a tie with Catherine Zeta-Jones  "A Little Night Music"




 Photography: Barry Gordin


Outstanding Play: Red by John Logan
Outstanding Musical: Memphis
Outstanding Revival of a Play (A Tie): A View from the Bridge and Fences
Outstanding Revival of a Musical: La Cage Aux Folles
Outstanding Actor in a Play: Liev Schreiber (A View from the Bridge)
Outstanding Actress in a Play:Jan Maxwell (The Royal Family)

Jan Maxwell

Outstanding Actor in a Musical: Douglas Hodge (La Cage Aux Folles)
Outstanding Actress in a Musical: (A Tie) Catherine Zeta Jones (A Little Night Music)
 Montego Glover (Memphis)
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Santino Fontana (Brighton Beach Memoirs)
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Viola Davis (Fences)
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical: Christopher Fitzgerald (Finian’s Rainbow)

Katie Finneran

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical: Katie Finneran (Promises, Promises)

Jim Brochu

Outstanding Director of a Play: Michael Grandage (Red)
Outstanding Director of a Musical: Michael Mayer (American Idiot)
Outstanding Choreography: Twyla Tharp (Come Fly Away)
Outstanding Music: David Bryan (Memphis)
Outstanding Lyrics: John Kander & Fred Ebb (The Scottsboro Boys)
Outstanding Book of a Musical Alex Timbers (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson)
Outstanding Orchestrations: Daryl Waters & David Bryan (Memphis)
Outstanding Musical Revue: Sondheim on Sondheim
Outstanding Music in a Play: Branford Marsalis (Fences)

Liev Schreiber

Outstanding Set Design: Phelim McDermott, Julian Crouch & Basil Twist  (The Addams Family)
Outstanding Costume Design:Matthew Wright (La Cage Aux Folles)
Outstanding Lighting Design:Neil Austin (Red)
Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical:Acme Sound Partners (Ragtime)
Outstanding Sound Design in a Play:Fitz Patton (When The Rain Stops Falling)
Outstanding Solo Performance:Jim Brochu (Zero Hour)
Unique Theatrical Experience:Love, Loss, and What I Wore
Outstanding Ensemble Awards: The Orphan’s Home Cycle and 
The Temperamentals

In addition, the following non-competitive awards were presented:
To the cast, creative team and producers of Horton Foote’s epic The Orphan’s Home Cycle: We salute the breadth of vision, which inspired the exceptional direction, performances, sets, lighting, costumes, music and sound that made it the theatrical event for this season.

John Kander

To Jerry Herman for enchanting and dazzling audiences with his exuberant
music for more than half a century.

To Godlight Theatre Company for consistent originality and excellence in dramatizing modern literature, and especially for the vibrant theatricality of its innovative productions.

To Ma-Yi Theater Company for more than two decades of excellence and for nurturing Asian-American voices in stylistically varied and engaging theater.

Catherine Zeta-Jones
Ben Vereen, Brooke Shields
Edward Albee, Isa Goldberg
Lilian & William Wolf
Patrick Christiano, Catherine Zeta-Jones
Douglas Hodge, Catherine Zeta-Jones
Edith & Ervin Drake
Robert R. Blume
Nanette Shaw, Liev Shreiber, Isa Goldberg
Peter Tear, Leslie (Hoban) Blake
Francie & Sam Norkin
Nilo Cruz (Pulitzer Prize “Anna And The Tropics”, Jamie deRoy, Jack GIndi, James King (Executive Director Cherry Lane Theatre)
Richard Skipper, Joel Vig
Jane & Michael Wind
Bobbie Horowitz, David F. Slone
Patrick Christiano, William Wolf
Douglas Hodge
Jan Maxwell, Randie Levine-Miller
Randie Levine-Miller, Jim Brochu, Ana Gasteyer
Ana Gasteyer, Jim Brochu
Ana Gasteyer, Jim Brochu
Jim Brochu, Randie Levine-MIller
Michael Urie
Mathew Modine
Sam Breslin, Arnie Burton, Thomas Jay Ryan, Matthew Schneck, Michael Urie
Tracee Chimo, Peter Friedman
Leslie Jordan
Mitzi Gaynor, Robert R.Blume
Julian Crouch
Fitz Patton
Robert R. Blume, Ross Blume
Christopher Fizgerald
Viola Davis
Adriane Lenox
Martha Plimpton
Christopher Fizgerald
Zora Howard, Brandon Reilly
Ralph Pena
Joe Tantalo
Edward Albee
Edward Albee, Hallie Foote, Michael Wison, Maggie Lacey, Bill Heck
Michael Mayer
David Bryan
David Bryan, Daryl Waters
Alex TImbers
Michael Douglas
Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta-Jones
Daryl Roth , Tom Kirdahy
Ayesha Antoine “My Wonderful Day”
Alfred Molino, Brooke Shields
Patrick Christiano, Sherie Rene Scott, Dick Scanion
Kenita Miller, Scott Siegel
Colman Domingo, Patrick Christiano
Sherie Rene Scott, Kurt Deutch
Sherie Rene Scott
Cheyenne Jackson
Montego Glover, Chad Kimball, Patrick Christiano
Chad Kimball, Montego Glover
Michael & Melisa Errico, Angella & Michael Errico
Kenita Miller
John Kander, Colman Domingo
Colman Domingo
Christiane Noll
Erin Crouch-Denman, Jeffrey Denman
Carolee Carmello, Kevin Chamberlin
Edward Albee, Tom Kirdahy
Edward Albee, Bunny Dell
Montego Glover
Jim Brochu, Randie Levine-MIller
Mitzi Gaynor, Ellis Nassour
Robert R. Blume, Ellis Nassour
Scott & Barbara Siegel
Michael Grandage
Kristen Johnson, Ellis Nassour
Jan Maxwell, Patrick Christiano
Catherine Zeta-Jones, Montego Glover