The Bodyguard @ Paper Mill

The North American premiere of THE BODYGUARD, a hit new musical based on the Warner Bros. film by Lawrence Kasdan, with a book by Alexander Dinelaris opened at The Paper Mill Playhouse, the recipient of the 2016 Regional Theatre Tony Award, in
Milburn, New Jersey. 
DSC_7170Deborah Cox, Judson Mills

Read more >

David Hyde Pierce Honored

David Hyde Pierce, Jano Herbosch. Peri Gilpern

Tony Award winning actor feted by Drama League

The Drama League presented the 33rd Annual Musical Celebration of Broadway by honoring Tony and Emmy Award winner David Hyde Pierce in the Grand Ballroom of the Plaza Hotel on Monday, November 7th, 2016. The black-tie gala closes out The Drama League’s centennial celebration that began last November honoring two time Tony Award winner Bernadette Peters.

Read more >

The Collector Opens

Matt de Rogatis, Director Lisa Milinazzo, Jillian Geurts

Gripping adaptation of John Fowles’ The Collector opens at 59E59 Theaters

IMG_1653_3Matt de Rogatis, Director Lisa Milinazzo, Jillian Geurts

Read more >

The Wizard of Oz Opens

Taylor-Rey Rivera

A new version of The Wizard of Oz for children from 4 to 104 opened at the Harlem Repertory Theater.

The Harlem Repertory Theatre staging of “The Wizard of Oz,” co-produced by the Yip Harburg Foundation, for young and young-at-heart audiences opened at Tato Laviera Theatre at Harlem Prep Elementary School, 240 East 123rd Street and running from October 8 to December 13.

Read more >

Drama Desk Mingle

The Drama Desk and their President, Charles Wright, hosted a “Members Mingle” Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2016  at the Episcopal Actors’ Guild Hall on East 29th Street where Drama Desk members met with new members and members of the Nominating Committee.  
Like us on FACEBOOK and Follow us on TWITTER


Photography: Barry Gordin

Read more >

Jamie deRoy @ Birdland

Jamie deRoy & friends, 2016 Mac Award winner, benefits The Actors Fund at Birdland.

Jamie deRoy brought her award winning show, Jamie deRoy & friends, to Birdland on Sunday October 16 to benefit The Actors Fund. Jamie’s stellar line-up of talent included Brandon Victor Dixon, the new star of Hamilton, and the legendary award winning Marilyn Maye along with Julie Gold, Billy Stritch, Julie Halston and Steven Scott.
Hamilton’s Brandon Victor Dixon, Jamie deRoy

Read more >

The Clearing Opens

Hamish Allan-Headley, Tessa Zugmeyer, Neal Mayer, Pamela Moller Kareman, Jakob von Eichel, Quinn Cassavale, Lauren Currie Lewis, Ron Sims, David Licht

Strong cast leads revival of powerful drama at 59E59 Theaters

A compelling revival of the THE CLEARING by Helen Edmundson opened at 59E59 Theaters on October 11 for a limited run through October 26, 2016. The play effectively directed by Pamela Moller Kareman is set against Oliver Cromwell’s brutal campaign to force Catholics out of Ireland while invoking a story of deceit, love, and passion. 

IMG_1645Hamish Allan-Headley, 
Tessa Zugmeyer, Neal Mayer, Pamela Moller KaremanJakob von Eichel, Quinn Cassavale, Lauren Currie Lewis, Ron Sims, David Licht

Read more >

HIFF Award Winners

The 24th Hamptons International Film Festival announced their award winners at a ceremony in East Hampton.

, directed by Kristina Grozeva & Petar Valchanov won the Award for Best Narrative Feature, presented by the Wall Street Journal. THE EAGLE HUNTRESS, directed by Otto Bell, received the Award for Best Documentary Feature, sponsored by ID Films. THE SILENCE, directed by Ali Asgari & Farnoosh Samadi, and IRREGULARS, directed by Fabio Palmieri, received the Award for Best Narrative Short Film and for Best Documentary Short Film, respectively.


Read more >

33rd Drama League Gala

David Hyde Pierce to be Feted by Broadway and Hollywood’s Brightest Stars at the 33rd annual Drama League Musical Celebration of Broadway 

The Drama Leagues Executive Artistic Director, Gabriel Stelian-Shanks announced the roster of special guest performers for the 33rd Annual Musical Celebration of Broadway honoring Tony® and Emmy® Award winner David Hyde Pierce which  will  held on Monday evening, November 7, 2016 at The Plaza (768 Fifth Avenue) in New York City.  DSC_1846_img_assist_custom__1_

Read more >

Hello Dolly!

The upcoming Broadway revival of “Hello Dolly!” starring the incomparable Bette Midler, in the title role, is destined to be a major happening this season. Tickets went on sale this past Saturday, September 17 ringing in a record breaking $9 million plus dollars, a first-day record amount in the history of Broadway. Wow!” tweeted Bette Midler when she heard the news late on Monday, and the reaction was not unique. 


 Philip J. Smith and Robert E. Wankel, Chairman and President of The Shubert Organization, respectively, said, “We are thrilled with the tremendous response from Hello, Dolly! ticket-buyers. The combination of this show and Bette Midler has proven irresistible to theatergoers.” 

Read more >

Bradley Theodore @ ACA

ACA Galleries, 529 West 20th Street, hosted an opening reception of for an exhibition of The Bradley Theodore Experience on Thursday September 16. The exhibition marks Theodore’s first solo exhibition in New York after returning from a successful year-long overseas tour that included solo exhibitions in Hong Kong and London.  The Bradley Theodore Experience features over 30 new paintings and works on paper inspired by Theodore’s travels and pop culture portraits, along with a virtual reality environment painted on-site by Theodore. For the first time viewers are able to immerse themselves in a Bradley Theodore painting and experience his mural style in 3-D using virtual reality headsets. 
DSC03768Bradley Theodore

Read more >

Edward Albee RIP

Edward Albee has died  September 16, 2016. Mr Albee was an American playwright known for works such as The Zoo Story (1958), The Sandbox (1959), and Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1962). His works are often considered as well-crafted, realistic examinations of the modern condition. His early works reflect a mastery and Americanization of the Theatre of the Absurd that found its peak in works by European playwrights such as Samuel Beckett, Eugène Ionesco, and Jean Genet. Younger American playwrights, such as Paula Vogel, credit Albee’s daring mix of theatricality and biting dialogue with helping to reinvent the post-war American theatre in the early 1960s. Later in his life, Albee continued to experiment in works such as The Goat, or Who Is Sylvia? (2002).

Read more >

Suzanne Vega @ Guild Hall

American songwriter Suzanne Vega graces stage of The John Drew Theater in East Hampton.

The distinctive artist/story teller/singer Suzanne Vega, who emerged as a leading figure of the folk-music revival of the early 1980’s, appeared at Guild Hall in East Hampton on Saturday, September 3. She performed to adoring fans in her cool emotive style accompanied by Gerry Leonard, a Dublin born guitar player, songwriter and musical director, and Doug Yowell, a New York City based drummer, who has been touring with her for the past 15 years. 1_18Doug Yowell, Suzanne Vega, Gerry Leonard

Read more >

Red Carpet @ Tony Awards

Photos from the RedCarpet at the 70th Annual Tony Awards that were presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing on Sunday, June 12, 2016 at The Beacon Theater in NYC hosted by James Corden on CBS. The Tony Awards honor theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway.

Photography: Barry Gordin 

Follow us on FACEBOOK and TWITTER
For a Complete List of Winners Click Here
Click Here for Inside the Winners Circle

Read more >

The Poets of Amityville

An all-star cast benefit reading of a new project by Eugene Pack in East Hampton.GroupRichard Kind, Treat Williams, Mathew Broderick,
Tovah Feldshuh, Stockard Channing, Dayle Reyfel, Eugene Pack

Read more >