A Simply Barbra Holiday

Steven Brinberg, Julie Wilson

Legendary theater and cabaret performer Julie Wilson joined Mac & Bistro award winner Steven Brinberg, considered by many to be the definitive Barbra Streisand impressionist, for A Simply Barbra Holiday party at Symphony Space on Broadway at 95th Street, where the stage veterans joined forces for a heartfelt benefit/show for The Ali Forney Center. The evening also featuring Broadway’s Tituss Burgess from the Little Mermaid and The Broadway Boys was hosted by the star Barbra/Brinberg, who sang the bulk of the musical numbers including many of the Diva’s signature classics with a few entertaining twists.

Read more >

Liza’s At The Palace

Liza Minnelli
brought her electrifying presence to Broadway in her new show “Liza’s At The Palace…, " where the three time Tony Award winning superstar "razzle dazzled" the opening night audience with a confident, grity and of course magical display of showmanship. Liza’s very personal show plays tribute to her godmother Kay Thompson, who as vocal coach and arranger for MGM during that studio’s musical heyday period in the 1940s and 1950s taught Lena Horne and Judy Garland how to sing.


Read more >

ReWrite World Premiere

Urban Stages kicked off their 25th season with the world premiere of Joe Iconis’ delightful new musical ReWrite, a trio of off-beat mini musicals by the award winning composer, who’s Things to Ruin, a revue of his songs just completed a well received run at The Zipper Factory. With ReWrite, a trio of mini-musicals (Nelson Rocks, Miss Marzipan, and The Process, Iconis takes a look at normal people in frustrating everyday situations that seem to overwhelm them. The evening directed by John Simpkins with ditzy style is performed by a wonderful cast of young performers, who pull out all the stops to lift this little musical a mile high.

Read more >

Andrea Marcovicci … Cabaret

Andrea Marcovicci has returned to the Oak Room of The Algonquin Hotel for an unprecedented 22nd season and will be performing her outstanding show called “Marcovicci Sings Movies 11” until December 27th. Her long-time Musical Director, Shelly Markham was on piano, with Jared Egan on bass. This show brings us back to the romantic era of the movies with songs that serve as a “catalyst in recalling our memories.” Andrea entered the Oak Room in an obviously good mood, as she had just celebrated her 60th birthday the day before. She was wrapped in a shawl for the first song and then removed it to reveal a dazzling antique gown worthy of any movie star in an MGM musical.

Read more >

Playwrights at Sardi’s

Scott Siegel, Michael Weller, Simon Saltzman
Roz Friedman, Tina Howe, Simon Saltzman

"The Return of the Playwright," a stimulating panel discussion featuring Tina Howe, Leslie Lee, Adam Rapp, Joseph Stein, and Michael Weller was presented at Sardi’s by the Outer Critics Circle in partnership with Samuel French, Inc.

Read more >

Anyone Can Fly at ACA

Faith Ringgold, Dorian Bergen

Dorian and Jeff Bergen hosted the 10th anniversary celebration party for The Anyone Can Fly Foundation. The festive event at their ACA Gallery in Chelsea featured live music by Gia Williams and her band, great food by Spoonbread, and silent actions all for a great cause – to the raise the profile of great African American artists.

Read more >

Backstage with Maclaine

Shirley Maclaine, Lin-Manuel Miranda

Spotted backstage at the Tony Award-winning show "In the Heights" were local New Age authors, Monte Farber and Amy Zerner with an original Broadwy Gypsy, Shirley MacLaine. The legend was wearing one of Amy’s Spiritual Couture jackets. Shirley has a line of Chakra jewelry which she will show at Bergdorf Goodman, where Amy sells her Spiritual Couture evening wear. Shirley played Coco Chanel in a miniseries on Lifetime




Read more >

P is for Party

Producer Stewart F. Lane and his sons Lenny & Frankie with Melissa Lewis at the opening of her interactive musical for kids, P is for Party." The show "really rocks." Bring you little ones and check it out. Prizes for Best Pirate and Princesses in the audience. On Sundays September 21 through October 26, 11am and 1pm at the DR2 Theater, 103 East 15th Street in Union Square. For tickets call telecharge 239-6200

Read more >

World Peace Day

The NY City Slickers

The NY City Slickers a sizzling Bluegrass band, performed on Pier 84 as part of the International World Peace Day celebration.

Read more >

Life In A Marital Institution

James Braly & Sarah Jones on Opening Night

James Braly’s poignant Life in a Marital Institution opened at the SoHo Playhouse, 15 Vandam Street and will run through August 31. The tragicomic one man show is a semi-autobiographical account of married life. A sold out hit at 59E59 Theaters near the end of last season, the New York Times said the production was “Full of laughs and insights.” What underlines the humor most is the center of real emotion that runs throughout the evening.

Read more >

Donna Summer @ WHBPAC

Donna Summer

Legendary singer songwriter and our own very favorite DISCO QUEEN now the EMPRESS Donna Summer ended her east coast "Stamp Your Feet" tour at The West Hampton Beach Performing Arts Center as part of WHBPAC 10th Anniversary season celebration.

Read more >

“Arturo’s Window” – Reading

Regina R. Quattrochi, Bobby Belfry

Bailey House presented a staged reading of Arturo’s Window a provocative new play written by Cheryl King and Rod Menzies with music by John Mercurio at the Barrow Street Theater on Wednesday. The true-life tale was inspired by John Jerome, an event planner at a high level investment firm, who used his corporate credit card to help friends with aids. The reading was part of the 25th Anniversay Celebration for Bailey House. For 25 years Bailey House has provided assistance to people and families struggling with HIV and Aids.



Read more >

Christine Ebersole & Billy Stritch

Guild Hall, the cultural center of East Hampton, launched their Summer Season with an intimate performance by Tony Award winner Christine Ebersole and jazz pianist/singer Billy Stritch at East Hampton Point. Ebersole & Stritch took the stage after dinner and cocktails with a scintillating act that left them wanting more. Look for this duo to show up on the cabaret scene this Fall/Winter season. We overhead talk of the Carlyle. They were dazzling together weaving a subtle spell with their flawless easy style.

Read more >